Exomonk
Are you missing what’s important? Tech news and more.

Android O is probably going to be called Android Oreo

24

Not only did Google officially reveal the launch date and time of Android O yesterday, it also dropped a pretty big hint about what it’s going to be called: eagle-eyed readers spotted that a teaser video posted to Google+ had the revealing filename “GoogleOreo_Teaser_0817_noDroids (1).mp4”.

Convinced? Shortly after the filename was spotted, someone at Google’s social media division went back in and changed it to “Octopus Teaser.mp4”, presumably in reference to the octopus animation Easter egg in recent editions of the Android O beta.

You’re free to make your own minds up but you’ve only got a couple of days to get your predictions finalized, because Android O is arriving on Monday, August 21. Google has announced a livestream announcement for 2:40PM EST (11:40AM PST, 7:40PM GMT).

O what a beautiful OS

Oreo would make a lot of sense for the name of the next Android update, as it’s a recognizable brand name in the style of KitKat, which was of course used for Android 4.0. It’s less likely that Google would suddenly switch to underwater creatures like the octopus, but like everyone else we’ll have to wait and see.

How quickly Android O will get pushed out to the phones of the masses isn’t clear yet, but presumably anyone who owns a Pixel or a Nexus device is going to be first in line. When Google has something more specific to share we’ll let you know.

The mobile OS update, which has been available as a public beta for several months, doesn’t add a huge amount of new features, but you’ll notice improvements to battery life, the notification system, and boot times. Once the software launch is out of the way, we can get back to looking forward to Google’s next pair of Pixel handsets.

Via Android Police

By Techradar

 

 

Comments are closed.