Exomonk
Are you missing what’s important? Tech news and more.

Xbox One X pre-order details will be revealed this weekend

189

Big Xbox One X pre-order news is on the way this weekend, Microsoft has revealed, and that might mean you can reserve the console as soon as Sunday.

Here’s the score: Microsoft tweeted it will share Xbox One X pre-order info during its Gamescom 2017 presentation taking place on Sunday, August 20. The event is scheduled for 9pm CEST / 8pm GMT / 3pm ET / 12pm PT.

Called Xbox @ gamescom Live, the event will showcase games destined for Xbox and Windows 10. There will be game trailer premiers and, as Microsoft says in a blog post, “more about the most powerful console ever made, Xbox One X.”

While the company may simply share the date Xbox One X pre-orders go live, reliable Microsoft insider Tom Warren of The Verge tweeted that pre-orders for the console will in fact open up following Microsoft’s Gamescom event.

The Xbox One X release date is November 7, so a two month-plus pre-order window makes sense as it gives customers time to set one aside and, more importantly, allows Microsoft ample opportunity to get inventory lined up and ready to ship.

There’s no lack of anticipation around Microsoft’s next-gen console, which is capable of running games in native 4K. While it costs a pricey $499 (£449 / €499 / CA$599 / AU$649), the Xbox One X is certainly an upgrade, featuring 6 teraflops of graphical power, HDR support, and, did we mention 4K?

However, for all its shiny new armor, games will ultimately make or break the console. Not all games support the Xbox One X’s extra features, which could lead some to hold off buying it. It’s worth mentioning that all the Xbox One X’s games will work on the older Xbox One.

By Techradar

 

 

Comments are closed.